Playback speed
×
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00
Preview

Inside Look: What makes a good edible?

How I judge and evaluate c*nn*b*s edibles

I knew it was going to be gross. From the moment I set eyes on the package, I knew I would hate it. But I tasted it anyway.

The color actually looks beautiful, if it weren’t meant to be ingested. Tiny specks of yellow oil are suspended in neon alien blue-colored goo. I poke at it with my finger and lick a tiny bit to taste. The thick goo is slimy and viscous. I mix it with some sparkling water to help make it more palatable but the goo bobs between the bubbles.    

Several hours later, as I’m waiting for the taste and equally unpleasant high to dissipate from my body I wonder, “Why would you do this to a plant?”

I don’t like this product. But we all have different tastes, so I try my best to be objective and fair to the product’s intended audience.

Want to know what makes a good edible? Here’s how I judge and evaluate edibles for The Emerald Cup and Budist.   

  • Ingredients

  • Quality of C*nn*b*s

  • Looks + Aroma

  • Flavor + Texture

  • Effects 

  • Uniqueness + Innovation

Share


FOR PAID SUBSCRIBERS

**These are my own personal opinions and preferences, not official standards set by Emerald Cup or Budist.**

Ingredients 

What is this edible made with? Look on the back of the package and review the ingredient list. I notice the list of ingredients. Products using natural, healthier ingredients will score higher.  

  • Natural and/or organic vs. processed

  • Sugar – naturally derived vs. corn syrup or isomalt

  • Flavors – fruit and vegetable derived vs. artificial

  • Preservatives or Colors – none or as little as possible


Quality of C*nn*b*s

What type of c*nn*b*s is used to make this edible? This info should be labeled on the package and gives a clue on what type of effects I should expect. Look for these terms below, listed in order of best quality to least. 

Listen to this episode with a 7-day free trial

Subscribe to Fruit+Flower Unfurled to listen to this post and get 7 days of free access to the full post archives.

Fruit+Flower Unfurled
Fruit + Flower Unfurled Podcast
Explore the intersection of c*nn*bis food, drink and travel. If you love good food and great w**d, and want to know how to combine the two, you're in the right place. This is a show about c*nn*bis, camaraderie... and cookies! 🎧 LISTEN ON: Apple Music + Spotify + Substack